Alumni Spotlight: Michael Osei MIREKU

Mireku M_photo.jpg

Michael Osei Mireku

Where and what is your current work/professional situation?

 

I am currently a final year PhD candidate at the Ecole doctorale Pierre Louis de santé publique of the Université Pierre et Marie Curie.

 

  1. How did you get involved in your current work?

 

My work involves investigating the impact of the anemia in pregnancy and its risk factors particularly, nutrient deficiencies and infections, on the cognitive development of one-year-old children

 

  1. When did you graduate from the EHESP MPH?

 

I graduated from the MPH in July 2012.

 

  1. How long did it take for you to secure a job following the MPH?

 

I may have just been lucky but I was not the only who secured a job before graduating from the MPH. I was awarded doctoral grant to pursue my PhD before my defense in July 2012.

 

 

  1. What types of internships did you do during the M1 (if applicable) and the M2 of the MPH?

 

I actually did not have any internship in M1. In our time, it was not compulsory to have one. I did secure an internship during my M1 however, it only materialized in M2. I worked on identifying data for para-syndromic surveillance in a post-disaster context under the supervision of Prof Denis Bard in the Epidemiology Department of EHESP in Rennes.

 

 

  1. What skills did you learn from the MPH program that are applicable in your current roles?

 

My current position demands that I use almost every skill I learned from the MPH program. Almost everything I learned, particularly from the Epidemiology and Biostatistics module has been very helpful.

 

 

 

 

  1. Any advice for future EHESP MPH graduates?

 

To future MPH graduates, be confident that the MPH education you have had from EHESP has equipped with every necessary skill to secure a PhD or job position in the field of Public Health.

 

 

  1. Tell us one thing about you that many people don’t know.

I am the eldest of my siblings J did you know that?

 

 

  1. Finally, if you could choose a different career path other than the one you are on, what would it be?

 

I love to do what I am doing now. I still have political and business ambitions that I consider as causes rather than careers.

 

 

Thanks!

EHESP PHIN Newsletter Team

Leave a Reply

