M2 Internship Update: Mokhtar Omar

1. How did you obtain your M2 thesis internship – was the process easy or difficult?

It was not easy, especially at this point of time, many first year students might be totally confused about what they want to do in the future. I had a discussion with Professor Martine Bellanger about the possibilities that could fit my interests. As an Egyptian, she advised me to contact Professor Arnaud Fontanet, who is the head of the unit of Epidemiology of Emerging Diseases at Institut Pasteur. Professor Fontanet has been working in Egypt for more than 10 years, and by chance, there was an on-going project in Cairo, and then I found myself there.

2. What was the focus of your internship and what did day-to-day work look like?

I worked on Hepatitis C, and my thesis topic was on The Development and Feasibility of an Electronic Data Entry System at New Cairo Hospital, a national treatment centre for Hepatitis C in Egypt.

The objective of my internship was to assess a new electronic data entry system developed by Epiconcept; a private company that specializes in the development of IT systems for public health programs, and evaluate the data quality of one of the national treatment centres. My study involved both operational research and quantitative methods. I spent most of my time in the field. I had to work parallel with the heptologists and meet them in person.

Leave a Reply

