M2 Internship Update: Emma Pike

1. How did you obtain your M2 thesis internship – was the process easy or difficult?

I wasn’t 100% sure what I wanted to do for an internship heading into M2, so I went to the Internship fair put on by the school to talk to the different representatives. I found a lot of the companies did not actually have anything to offer, but it was good to get an idea of different organisations out there. So when I got home I proceeded to write to each of the organisations I was interested in. The key was finding someone within the organisation and writing directly to them. I would tell them about my past, the school and what I was interested in and attached a copy of my CV. Within a week I had a response and an interview at the OECD and not long after that my internship was confirmed!

My biggest piece of advice, is be patient and try not to be disheartened by emails that are not responded to. I didn’t get responses for some but got responses to others, and for those that could not help me often gave me the name of someone who maybe could. Also don’t rely on someone else to get you an internship! Martine will always do her best to help you, but I think it is also very important to take some initiative yourself. My internship was a result of persistence and some luck, but I believe if you want something you have to go out and get it! wink emoticon

2. What was the focus of your internship and what did day-to-day work look like?

So my internship at the OECD was in the Health Division, and my work was focused on training capacities for nurses in OECD and EU countries, part of a project for the European Commission. A typical day was 9-6pm, with most of it spent in front of the computer doing research and writing for both the OECD and my thesis. One great thing about working at the OECD were the opportunities we could get involved in. During my stay there I was able to participate in a conference on health financing, OECD week and see key-note speakers including Alexis Tsipras, George Soros, Fátima Báñez, François Hollande and Ban Ki Moon.

3. What do you think about your internship and how does it fit into your future plans?

I have always wanted to work for an international organisation, so it was a great opportunity to see how they work. Also coming from a nursing background, it was a great challenge to go from being on my feet running around all day, to sitting in an office, but it was a great experience. For now and my future plans?! Right now I am taking a little break (deserved I think!), but I hope to find work in France for an NGO in some form of healthcare management/policy position.

Leave a Reply

