STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Rose Adjeibempah

Why are you in the MPH?

I am looking for a way to make measurable change within my country, Ghana. Public Health is more at a population level and I feel like I can save multiple lives at a point in time just by making a relevant evidence-based decision. The MPH (hopefully) will broaden my knowledge on the most appropriate interventions to use when dealing with the huge disease burden that we face on a daily basis.

Tell us about your background.

My undergraduate studies were in Physics (Medical Physics major). My focus was in radiation therapy, radiation biology, nuclear physics and other “fun stuff” in oncology.

Tell us about your work experience.

After school I worked at an oncology centre in Ghana where we treated all types of cancers. My next job was at a WHO Collaborating Centre as a Project Manager. It was one of the most challenging things I had ever done but I gained a lot of management experience from there. Before coming to Paris, I worked with a grassroots NGO in one of the poorest neighborhoods in Ghana. It was a truly life changing and humbling experience for me.

What is your favorite thing about Paris?

It’s the city of lights!!! What’s not to love about it?!

Where do you see yourself in 15 years?

I’d like to occupy a senior managerial position in a giant public health and policy organization within Africa.

What is your favorite food?

That’s very difficult because everybody knows I’m a foodie!!! I’ll give you my top 3; Fufu, Jollof and Waakye, all very precious Ghanaian dishes. We nearly sued Top Chef Jamie Oliver for defiling our sacred Jollof on Tv. To West Africans, Jollof is Life, Jollof is a religion. The Jollof Gang usually compare themselves to Beyonce’s Beygency or Justin Bieber’s Beliebers.

What do you do in your spare time?

Whenever I find some free time I love to surf the internet for random things and watch sitcoms.

What do you like/dislike about the MPH so far?

I love the mix of culture that I have been exposed to by the programme. Working with people from different backgrounds is not an easy task, but it is a growth process and I hope to learn as much as I can from all my classmates and lecturers.

Which Disney character would you want to be?

Pocahontas…I guess.

What would you do with a million euros?

If it’s tax free…Huge investments within Ghana, philanthropy and awesome family vacations.

Leave a Reply

